skip to Main Content

What is Software Testing Methods?

What is Software Testing Methods?

Software Testing or What is Software Testing Methods?  – The software testing is a process of executing the software in order to check the quality it exhibits under test. It is also stated as the process of executing a program with the intention of finding the software bugs or errors. Whether it is error free or not? The software testing is done in order to check whether the program follow all the properties which it must contain as per order. The major objectives of Software testing it to find defects which may get created by the programmer while developing the software program. It must contain certain properties and guidelines which are given below.

  1. It meet the requirement of design and development.
  2. It should be sufficiently usable.
  3. It must perform all its functions in acceptable time period.
  4. It must respond correctly while inserting any kinds of input by the user.
  5. It can be installed and run on predefined environment.
  6. It must be user friendly.
  7. It exhibit properties like maintainability, usability, performance, security, testability and scalability.

What are the major Testing Methods?

There are mainly two testing methods which are used now a days. They are Static and Dynamic Testing.

  1. Static Testing – In this type of Testing, code is not executed. Here programmer manually checks the code, documents, and design to find the errors. The main objective of this testing is to improve the quality of software products by removing errors in early stages of the development cycle. This testing is also known as Non-execution technique/ verification testing.
  2. Dynamic Testing – Under Dynamic Testing code is executed. It checks for functional behaviour of software system, memory/ CPU usage and overall performance of the system. Hence the name “Dynamic“. Main objective of this testing is to confirm that the software product works in conformance with the business requirements. This testing is also called as Execution technique or validation testing.

The other testing methods are also popular according to the need of programmer. They are White Box testing, Black box testing, Grey box testing and Visual Testing.

What are the Various Testing Levels?

There are basically four levels of Software Testing which are added in the software development process. These four testing levels are Unit testing, Integration testing, component interface testing and system testing. Each of these are described below.

  1. Unit testing – The testing which verify the functionality of a specific section of code. It usually works at function level. It is defined as the testing of individual software modules or functions. It is usually done by the programmer but not by the testers, because the programmer has the detailed knowledge of internal program design and code.
  2. Integration Testing – This testing is done in order to check the interface between components at module level against a software design. It expose defects in the interface and interaction between integrated modules. This is type of testing is done in client-server model and distributed computing system.
  3. Component interface testing – It is done to verify or check the handling of data passed between different units or subsystem usually message packets beyond full integration testing between units. In this testing the data types are also verified.
  4. System Testing – This level testing is done in order to check whether the system meets all its requirements or not. The black box testing is also based on overall requirements specifications

This is all about What is Software Testing Methods? In next article we study regarding OSI Model Concepts.

Leave a Reply

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: